Monday, May 29 - Wednesday, May 31  2017


   The pdf version can be downloaded here.



08:30 – 09:00 Registration
09:00 – 09:15 Opening
09:15 – 09:45 J. S. Baskin: “4D Ultrafast Electron Microscopy at Caltech: Completing the Scientific Legacy of Ahmed Zewail”
09:45 – 10:15 D. Plemmons: “Coherent Photoexcited Structural Dynamics in Nanostructured and Nanoscale Materials”
10:15 – 10:45 R. van der Veen: “Ultrafast core-level spectroscopy in 4D-electron microscopy”
10:45 – 11:15 Coffee break
11:15 – 11:45 N. Browning: “Observations of Dynamic Processes in Liquids – Combined Hardware and Software Solutions for Increasing Image Speed”
11:45 – 12:15 P. Baum: “Electron Microscopy of Electromagnetic Waveforms”
12:15 – 12:45 C. Ropers: “Ultrafast Transmission Electron Microscopy facilitates Free-Electron Quantum Optics”
12:45 – 14:15 Lunch
14:15 – 14:45 J. Weissenrieder: “Influence of Cathode Geometry on Electron Dynamics in an Ultrafast Electron Microscope”
14:45 – 15:15 B. Siwick: “Ultrafast Electron Diffraction Probes More Than Just Lattice Structure”
15:15 – 15:30 S. Schäfer: “Time-resolved nanoscale mapping of strain tensor fields in ultrafast transmission electron microscopy”
15:30 – 15:45 U. Lorenz: “Mechanical properties of nanoconfined lead”
15:45 – 16:15 Coffee break
16:15 – 16:30 I. Kaminer: “Ultrafast electron-plasmon interactions in 2D materials”
16:30 – 16:45 G. M. Vanacore: “Unraveling the ultrafast dynamics of spatially confined phonons and plasmons in low-dimensional nanosystems”
16:45 – 17:00 D. Xiang: “Status of the single shot MeV ultrafast electron microscope at Shanghai Jiao Tong University”
17:00 – 19:00 Poster Session



09:00 – 09:30 E. Stach: “Quasi-real time analysis of nanoparticle coarsening and ripening using a direct electron detector”
09:30 – 10:00 V. Radmilovic: “STEM Diffraction Mapping of Silver Nanowire Welds”
10:00 – 10:30 D. McGrouther: “ Enabling high temporal resolution for unmodified TEMs”
10:30 – 10:45 H. Yasuda: “Analysis of crystallization process in amorphous Sb nanoparticles by fast dynamic ultra-high voltage electron microscopy observations”
10:45 – 11:15 Coffee break
11:15 – 11:45 P. Denes: “Direct Electron Detection for Time-Resolved Microscopies”
11:45 – 12:15 B. Reed: “Temporal Compressive Sensing in Transmission Electron Microscopy”
12:15 – 12:30 A. Béché: “Compressed Sensing In (S)TEM: Imaging Materials With Optimized Electron Dose”
12:30 – 12:45 T. Schachinger: “Exploring the possibilities and limitations of vortex filter EMCD”
12:45 – 14:15 Lunch
14:15 – 14:45 A. Arbouet: “Towards ultrafast TEM based on a modified cold-field emission TEM”
14:45 – 15:00 A. Tagliaferri: “Charge carrier dynamics by secondary electron detection in ultrafast scanning electron microscopy”
15:00 – 15:15 M. Kuwahara: “Coherence of picosecond bunched electrons emitted from a semiconductor photocathode in transmission electron microscope”
15:15 – 15:30 J. F. M. van Rens: “RF-cavity based Ultrafast Electron Microscopy”
15:30 – 16:00 Coffee break
16:00 – 16:30 J. Garcia de Abajo: “Theoretical description of the ultrafast interaction between electron beams and plasmonic nanostructures”
16:30 – 17:00 M. Kociak: “New directions in the study of optical properties of nanostructures with free electrons beams”
17:00 – 17:15 J. Verbeeck: “How does the phase of an electron beam interact with a surface plasmon?”                                          
19:00 Conference Dinner



09:00 – 09:30 O. H. Kwon: “Ultrafast Electron Microscopy at UNIST”
09:30 – 10:00 T. LaGrange: “Perspectives on Ultrafast and Dynamic Transmission Electron Microscopy Instrumentation”
10:00 – 10:15 Y. Lereah: “Fast (24 and 300 fps) TEM of Nanoparticles Quasi Melted State”
10:15 – 10:30 B. G. Mendis: “Carrier lifetime measurement at grain boundaries in CdTe thin-film solar cells”
10:30 – 10:45 P. Satyam: “Real Time In-situ Electron Microscopy High Temperature Studies across metal-semiconductor interfaces and in Filled CNTs”
10:45 – 11:15 Coffee break
11:15 – 11:35 G. Brunetti: "Development of a New Generation Multi-Purpose Electron Microscope: JEOL F2"
11:35 – 11:55 D. Masiel: "Relativity - The technology behind IDES' new temporal compressive sensing system"
11:55 – 12:10 Y. Zaouter: "New generation of ultrafast lasers for the generation of photoelectrons"
12:10 – 12:45 Final discussion
  Concluding remarks
12:45 – 14:00 Lunch
14:00 Discussions, laboratory tour, meetings with exhibitors



List of posters

Nora Bach (University of Göttingen, Germany): Highly coherent femtosecond electron pulses for ultrafast transmission electron microscopy

Gabriele Berruto (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland): Probe magnetism in a dynamical transmission electron microscope: a study on skyrmions in FeGe

Kerstin Bücker (Institut de Physique et Chimie des Matériaux de Strasbourg – CNRS, France): The electron dynamics in ultrafast stroboscopic TEM

Robert Bücker (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Germany): Imaging Biological Systems with Ultrabright Electron Pulses

Armin Feist (University of Göttingen, Germany): Spatio-Temporal Probing of Lattice Dynamics in Graphite by Ultrafast TEM

Rajeswari Jayaraman(Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland): Skyrmion dynamics studied by cryo-Lorentz transmission electron microscopy

Ivan Madan (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland): Directional plasmon emission and sub-femtosecond plasmon dynamics by zero-loss suppression PINEM

Marian Mankos (Electron Optica, Inc., Palo Alto, USA): Novel Electron Mirror Pulse Compressor for UED and DTEM

Sang Tae Park (Integrated Dynamic Electron Solutions, Inc., Pleaston, USA): Numerical Study on the Electron Propagation in UTEM

Matthieu Picher (Institut de Physique et Chimie des Matériaux de Strasbourg – CNRS, France): The characteristics of electron pulses in single-pulse dynamic TEM

Renaud Podor (Université de Montpellier, France): First stage of sintering of ThO2 microspheres: a HT-ESEM and HT-TEM study.

Enrico Pomarico (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland): Ultrafast imaging and spectroscopy of plasmonic fields upon infrared excitation

Pooja Rani (Indian Institute of Technology, India): Liquid like nucleation in nanoscale thin  films

Christopher Rathje (University of Göttingen, Germany): Coherent control of free-electron beams for temporal shaping on the attosecond time scale

Norbert Schönenberger (University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany): Setup and characterization of a pulsed scanning electron microscope for ultrafast experiments with electrons

Murat Sivis (University of Göttingen, Germany): Quantitative Nanoscale Mapping of Strongly-Localized Optical Near Fields in Ultrafast Transmission Electron Microscopy

Jeremy Sloan (University of Warwick, UK): In Situ Electron Beam Amorphization of Sb2Te3 nano-Confined Phase Change Material within Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes

Wouter Verhoeven (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands): A novel method for time-resolved electron energy loss spectroscopy using TM010 cavities as longitudinal lenses

Online user: 1